UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Scan it - simple document scanner with PDF export + iCloud Drive support

Forums > App Announcements

Hello all!

So I wasn't happy with the document scanner I had because it had too many features and wanted me to subscribe for yet more featuresโ€ฆ and being a developer I decided to create my own. Mainly because Apple has excellent VisionKit framework that does all the heavy lifting.

Features include easily accessible sharing of scanned stuff, generating and viewing PDF documents and automatic upload to "Scan it" folder in your iCloud Drive for easy backup and availability.

It was also great excuse to play around with VisionKit, PDFKit, exploring advanced sharing, Siri Shortcuts or building a Today widget.

Features

• Auto document detection while scanning, edges adjust
  • PDF Export
  • Text recognition (including Live Text on iOS 16)
  • Automatic iCloud Drive backup
  • Lock Screen & Home Screen widget

You can get it from the App Store. Press kit. IndieAppsCatalog.

If you have any questions (including implementation details, frameworks used etc.) please feel free to ask.

Scan documents, recognize text - new version with better OCR

Nice one. A little feedback, I thought it would be really useful if you would add the option to have text recognition since it is now available in iOS13.

Thanks!

Yea my future plans include adding text recognition but only as an index for search. Do you think it makes sense to present recognized text to the user?

Hacking with Swift is sponsored by RevenueCat

SPONSORED Take the pain out of configuring and testing your paywalls. RevenueCat's Paywalls allow you to remotely configure your entire paywall view without any code changes or app updates.

Learn more here

Sponsor Hacking with Swift and reach the world's largest Swift community!

@emin