UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

var body: some View { ! Function declares an opaque return type

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

I hoped to work through the SwiftUI Tutorial....I got as

Reading text from the user with TextField

but now the above error is preventing build of the examples.

Please Help! Mike

Could you please show code with what you are trying to return?

Check you have not made a typo as this will call this error

I tried various ways of putting in a return but I am new to Swift and could not hit on something the compiler would accept.

struct ContentView: View { @State private var checkAmount = "" @State private var numberOfPeople = 2 @State private var tipPercentage = 2 let tipPercentages = [10, 15, 20, 25, 0] var body: some View { !!!!!! Function declares an opaque return type but has no return statements in its body from which to infer... VStack { Text("") Text("") } Section { TextField("Amount", text: $checkAmount) }

Section {
        Text("$\(checkAmount)")
      .keyboardType(.decimalPad)
    }

}

}

Sorry about the mess above. My formating seems to have got lost. Mike

I copied your code into Xcode as it was not obvious from the formatting here.

var body: some View {
//        !!!!!! Function declares an opaque return type but has no return statements in its body from which to infer...
        VStack {
            Text("")
            Text("")
        }  //      <------- remove the { and put it below where it's indicated

Section {
            TextField("Amount", text: $checkAmount)

}

Section {
            Text("$\(checkAmount)")
                .keyboardType(.decimalPad)
        }
              //    <--------- put the } here. That way, the 2 Sections are within the VStack.
    }

The issue is that your body gives back several Views : first a VStack and then 2 Sections. Put the 2 sections within the VStack so that the body only has 1 single View (the VStack).