UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Struggling to understand JSON

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

@CJ  

Hi

I'm struggling to understand JSON and wondering if anyone could either explain or point me somewhere to gain a better understanding? The way it is being introduced along with multi page apps, classes, protocols and different property observers, as a total beginner, I feel overwhelmed. I am just moving onto day 41 of the Moonshot app but have backtracked as I felt I was just getting lost in the fog. I get that it is used to store user settings and also to format files, but how it is doing it, and whether files need to be written in this way (or even how they are written in this way) I don't really get.

As a way of explaining the depth of my confusion, I'm going use the example below that Paul uses (I think on day 37). I have added the print functions myself. He uses it to explain JSON but honestly I am not sure what I am supposed to take away from this. The data part prints '41 bytes' and the print(user) basically, and predictably, shows the variable 'User.' That's fine but has this data been saved somewhere? Has it been encoded? What even does it mean to encode the data? Also what is the 'forKey' "UserData" used for? Is the data stored in a dictionary? How do I retrieve it? I just can't really visualise what is going on even at this point so when he starts trying to incorporate it into apps with several pages, I just can't keep track of it. The basic understanding just isn't there.

struct User: Codable {
    let firstName: String
    let lastName: String 
}

struct ContentView: View {
    @State private var user = User(firstName: "Taylor", lastName: "Swift")

var body: some View {
        Button("save user") {
            let encoder = JSONEncoder()
            if let data = try? encoder.encode(user) {
                UserDefaults.standard.set(data, forKey: "UserData")
                print(data)