UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Programming as a Hobby

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

I have a scientific background (neuroscience and medicine). I have never taken any computer science courses in college, but I taught myself how to program in Objective-C on Xcode a while ago. I developed a few little apps but got stuck on a big project and then had to drop due to time contraints. I just got a new iMac and in the last week have started 100 days in Swift UI and have completed day 12 and all the checkpoints up to 7 without looking at the hints. A lot of concepts from Objective-C work have been really helpful for me and the way the lessons are presented seem very practical and helpful.

Overall, by no means I am a professional developer but is it realistic for me to continue to progress with the goal of developing a few amateur apps? (I have idea for an app to catalog my books at home, a pong emulator, and ultimately a program to do a baseball scorecard during a game). This is all just for fun for me, but who knows if it may open some doors for me in the future.

Do you professionals think this is realistic for me (I likely have no more than about 5 hours or less a week to devote to this)?

You are perfectly suited to be a Swift programmer.

Much of programming is collecting and analyzing data. With a background in neuroscience, you certainly can describe how thoughts are processed and stored in the brain. More importanly you understand how new memories are formed for future recall. Programming for iOS might be similar. You use many different parts to ingest and sift data. Eyes: Cameras, Ears: Microphones, Touch: Screen, barometer, altimiter, gestures; Nutrition: JSON Decoding. There are many parallels.