UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Problem with the word game challenge

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

Hello, I have already finished the Word Scramble challenge, but like with all challenges here, I create apps with my own twist. I have totally changed the game mechanics, ETC, but my problem doesn't concern it. One of the twists I applied is that I have loaded my own databse of polish words, which contains over 4 MLN entries which calculated to 60 M worth of data. When I loaded them normally, like shown by Paul, straight in my initializeGame() function, all worked fine, but when I was restarting the game, the file was reloaded which, of course was useless. So then I recalled that maybe, I could use classes to get the same result (I am learning Swift only at this website so I have no other knowledge). So I have created a class (DBManager) with a String array property of name “words” and I have loaded the file in the initializer of that class. Then, when I Applied that class in my struct, like private let manager = DBManager() and rewritten the logic so that the game used the GetRandomWord() method from my class it compiled normally, however now it doesn’t load and my UI is never shown. What can be wrong? P.S. I am blind so hence I have to skip more advanced animations, my goal is to get this game to a state where I can publish it to AppStore, so any help is appreciated haha.

It is difficult to try to give you more specific help without some sample of your modified code.

However, one idea would be to initialise the database, or a static set, when the app starts WordScrambleApp.swift, not when you use initializeGame().

Then in initializeGame() just access the word database / set, as needed.

@Nuno has a verbose problem:

I have loaded my own database of Polish words containing over 4 million entries

This number is hard to believe.