UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

I'm having a hard time doing things by my self

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

I'm new to the programming world, swift is the first language that i'm trying to learn. I'm on the 22nd and so far i've been understanding most of the things that are on the videos, somethings i have to watch more than once, but i'm doing ok.

The problem is, when i try to create something on my on, my mind just go blank and its like i dont know anything. I tried to recreate the guess the flag project, but if i dont consult on the original project, is almost impossible for me to do much.

So, is anyone here who experience something like that, is it normal in the beginning? If not, is there a way to improve? I just feel like i understand everything, but I dont really learn. And I really want to be a IOS developer

@Benji  

Plain normal, I'd say. I've been in the same situation and so have many others.

Repetition is the key here. Most beginners won't be able to create an app - or even parts of it - from just viewing tutorials. You need to try and create things on your own, like you did, and if it didn't work in the first place (again, plain normal), look up to how do. Some things only once, some things you may have to look up three, four maybe even ten times. That way everything will sink in much easier.

One thing I couldn't imagine until I heard about it (I believe even Paul Hudson said so): Even experienced developers have to look up how certain things work all the time.

So keep calm and good look with your journey!

Ricardo shares doubts we've all had before:

When I try to create something on my own, my mind just goes blank and it's like I don't know anything.

I have to agree with Pascal. Repetition is the key.

Biscuits πŸ₯― πŸ₯