UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Day 54: Bookworm- An NSManagedObject of class 'Book' must have a valid NSEntityDescription.

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

Hey everyone,

So as I was progressing through day 54, my Bookworm app would crash when I tried to save a book to in it. I would get "An NSManagedObject of class 'Book' must have a valid NSEntityDescription." I hadn't seen anything like this before and this is my first time working with Core Data. I had started a new project, then copied and pasted all the code I had so far and updated the .xcdatamodeld file. While I was doing that, I notices a Persistnace.swift file and also the .xcdatamodeld file had an entity of "Item" within it. Never seen any of the these before and I don't remeber it being brought up in the Paul's tutorial. So after getting my google on, I came to find out that the Persistance.swift file is needed and it had to be updated with the new entity of "Book" with the properties as was set in the Attributes. I had found out this info on this site: https://blckbirds.com/post/core-data-and-swiftui/. Just wanted to put it out there just incase anyone else coming along have the same issue as I did. Maybe this is a new thing the Xcode 12 and iOS 14 update. If we can get this to Paul Hudson so he can update the projects, that would be really dope.

Be blessed, not stressed!

I had solved my own issue, just wanted to bring this to light.

Thanks for the post, fixed my issue too!

Hi, For more convenience i type code here ! :: So you want to create "Persistence.swfit" File

import CoreData

struct PersistenceController {
    static let shared = PersistenceController()

let container: NSPersistentContainer

init() {
        container = NSPersistentContainer(name: "bookworm")

container.loadPersistentStores{ (storeDescription, error) in
            if let error = error as NSError? {
                fatalError("Unresolve Error: \(error)")
            }