UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Critiques Desired on my Checkpoint 6

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

@xan  

https://www.hackingwithswift.com/quick-start/beginners/checkpoint-6

I missed a week from being out sick but am back and ready to go. Just finished my Checkpoint 6 and am looking for critiques and pointers, even if its over code style, etc. Any tips appreciated!

enum Gear: Int {
    // I want these to start from 1, this seems to get the job done
    case first = 1
    case second, third, fourth, fifth
}

struct Car {
    // Because these never change once a car is manufactured
    let model: String
    let seats: Int

// So this cannot be changed directly
    private(set) var gear: Gear

mutating func changeGear(to gear: Gear) {
        self.gear = gear
    }

init(model: String, seats: Int) {
        self.model = model
        self.seats = seats

// Do cars all start in first gear?
        // I'm a dev, not a mechanic =P
        self.gear = .first
    }
}

var wrangler = Car(model: "wrangler", seats: 5)

wrangler.changeGear(to: .second)
print(wrangler.gear) // prints "second"
print(wrangler.gear.rawValue) // prints 2

Thinking about code style, do you normally put initializers before methods, or after? I'm thinking it would be...

properties initializer methods

...since the initializer is ran before any methods can ever be run? Do people have a preference for code order here?

@xan asks for critique:

Checkpoint 6 and am looking for critiques and pointers, even if its over code style,

The code below is fine. But I appreciate the comments. This shows that you understand that you don't understand the entire problem being solved. It's common that your customers will assume a great deal of you. Also some requirements lead to derived requirements. They're not specifially stated, but could be assumed to be requirements.

self.gear = .first