UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Checkpoint 4 - Stuck!

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

Hi all,

I'm doing 100 Days of SwiftUI and I'm stuck at Checkpoint 4. I don't know how long I sat in front of my laptop trying to find a starting point. No matter what I wrote, I felt like I had my back against the wall and just deleted everything and tried starting anew. Eventually I got so frustrated I just quit. But that does not mean I'm giving up! I'm going to try again tomorrow. But right now I'm feeling completely paralyzed. Maybe it's because I had a very rough day in general but I also feel like I'm not able to utilize most of what I've learned so far.

Could anyone point me in the right direction? Which topics should I maybe revisit and rehearse?

I have very little programming experience. The most advanced thing I've programmed before starting this course was a unit converter written in Java way back in 2009.

Thanks for any help! :) Loving the course so far but sometimes this programming stuff really makes my head spin...

Welcome to Checkpoint 4!

You say you have very little programming experience. But a lot of programming is puzzle solving. First, think of the steps you'd take on paper to solve this problem.

Write out the steps as if you were explaining the step-by-step solution to a summer intern.

GOAL: Find a square root of a number, where that number is between 1 and 10_000.

1. Get a number from the user.

2. Verify the number is greater than 0 AND less than 10_001.

3. Start with a 1.

4. Multiply that number by itself. (1 x 1 = 1, 2 * 2 = 4.... etc)

5. Does this answer equal the number you got in step 1?

6. Yes? Well done. Print your results!

7. No! Is the result less than the number from step 1?

7.a Yes! Ok, add 1 to the number in step 3. And run steps 4 and 5 again.

7.b No. If the result is greater than the number from step 1. You won't find an answer. Print your finding.

8. STOP.