UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Day 6: Closures Why I don't need to call the closure with a parameter name?

Forums > 100 Days of Swift

I am on day 6 and I have a question about this code:

func myName(someName: String) {
    print("My name is \(someName)")
}
myName(someName: "Anna") 

let myName2 = {(someName: String) in
    print("My name is \(someName)")
}
myName2("Anna")

Why I don't need to use the parameter name for the closure, but I need to use it when calling the function? I will get an error if I skip the parameter name for the function or if I use it for the closure. I am sorry if this is a stupid question from a total beginner

As far as I know, closures don't have external parameter names so they have only internal parameter names. That is why you don't need to use them. A function can have both external and internal parameter names e.g.

func someFunction (externalName internalName: Int) {
// here you use internalName for argument
}

to call a function

someFunction(externalName: 2)

as closures do not have exernal name so you have to omit them.

Hope this is clear.

Jus to add :)

External parameter names are so standard in Swift that there’s a rule: by default, all parameter names are externalized automatically, using the internal name as the external name. If you want a parameter name to be externalized, and if you want the external name to be the same as the internal name, do nothing — that will happen all by itself. If you want to depart from the default behavior, you can do either of the following in your function declaration:

Change the name of an external parameter If you want the external name of a parameter to be different from its internal name, precede the internal name with the external name and a space.

Suppress the externalization of a parameter To suppress a parameter’s external name, precede the internal name with an underscore and a space.