UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Code review for challenge 3 of original 100 days

Forums > 100 Days of Swift

Greetings everybody

Here was the challenge we were given. This comes from a milestone challenge to create a hangman game.

Here is my solution.

I've never written much UIKit code and this is my first time through the original course.

I wrote the entire thing using code -- no storyboard. It took me several days and many bugs to fix to get it to work right. The UI isn't pretty and it has no drawing of a noose or body. I haven't learned how to draw in UIKit yet.

It's long (about 450 lines of code) but a lot of it is just setting up labels and constraints so that can mostly be ignored. The main parts are the functions I wrote. There's also a file for a String extension.

I was hoping people could look at my code and give me any advice/ criticism on how I implemented this and if there were better ways of doing things.

Thanks so much, Rob

I like that you took on a bigger challenge!

Sadly, I started looking at it on a device that wasn't sized right to finish the game. But it all worked. So!

The amount of code will be somewhat less overwhelming if you add a function to initialize the labels, e.g.:

func makeLabel(text: String, font: UIFont, textColor: UIColor) -> UILabel {
        var label = UILabel()
        label.translatesAutoresizingMaskIntoConstraints = false
        label.text = text
        label.font = font
        label.textColor = textColor

return label
    }

…and call it like so:

currentWordLabel = makeLabel(text: currentWord,
                                font: UIFont.systemFont(ofSize: 24),
                                textColor: UIColor.systemGray)

…which will reduce a lot of the wall of labels at the beginning.